Tuesday, 17 January 2017

Hewitt Avenges Loss to Gingras to Win Falcon Tour Stop #8

Danny Hewitt, Patrick Guay, Sylvain Gingras

By: Markus Noé

This past weekend January 14-15 Dooly's Levis hosted the 8th stop of the 2016-2017 Falcon Cue Quebec Pro Tour. Since its debut last year this tour has been well attended by players all over Eastern Canada has it has stops in Quebec, Ontario, and New Brunswick.

A strong field of 40 players participated in this event. Most of the top players from Québec were in attendance with the exception of Alain Martel who did not make the trip from Montreal and Martin Daigle was in New York City playing in the World Pool Series.

There was only one big name that did not make it through to day 2 as Luc Salvas suffered a first round loss to Andre Pelletier 9-7. After winning a few matches on the losers side Jeff Blais eliminated him 9-6.

Sylvain Gingras was the talk of this tournament as he marched his way through the winners side of the bracket. Along the way he beat some of Canada's best players Danny Hewitt 9-4 and Sylvain Grenier 9-4. Gingras is a good pro from Quebec City, perhaps a little bit less known than the top players in the province however very capable.

Once on the losers side Hewitt matched up with Francis Crevier and ended his tournament in the 5/6 position 9-7. From there Hewitt went on to win 9-6 against Patrick Adam and Grenier. This earned him a rematch with Gingras. Once in the final Hewitt once again showed his class and won in dominate fashion 11-4.

In the picture above the person in the middle is Patrick Guay. This tournament that he hosted was in honour of his late father Neil Guay who was a well known promoter in the province of Québec.

The next Falcon Tour stop will be held February 4th &5th at Tailgators located in Ottawa Ontario! 


1- Danny Hewitt 1000$

2-Sylvain Gingras $ 750

3-Sylvain Grenier $ 575

4-Patrick Adam $ 400

5-6 Francis Crevier and Michael Bernier $ 300

7-8 Andre Pelletier and Eric Cloutier $ 200

9-12 Jacques Cyr, Jeff Blais, richer francoeur, Pierre Theriault $ 100

13-16 Jean-Francois Bérubé, Louis Martin Pratte, Sébastien Hoe, yanick bedard $ 50

No comments:

Post a Comment